grandchildren, grateful, haPPY, sewing

burp the baby

20140726_162958Grand #3 is headed our way!  The anticipation and excitement is building.  The baby shower is in a couple of weeks.  My sewing machine has been running full steam ahead.

I have been sewing and stock piling all kinds of things he will “NEED”, said the smiling grandma.

I took a break from sewing bibs, triangle banner flags,  pillows, curtains and some secret  things to make some burp cloths.  Yes, every baby needs fancy schmancy burp cloths.

When did cloth diapers become so pricey?  Good gravy.

First, I found the pattern a couple of years ago from Suzanne.  She is an amazing seamstress and shares her patterns.  I send her a thank you note each time I borrow one.   justanotherhangup.blogspot.com/2011/01/baby-burpies-easy-way.html

20140725_195534Then I purchased a crib sheet from the registry.  I started cutting it up to use it for all sorts of treats and goodies.

The pictures will help show you how I changed ordinary cloth diapers into fancy burp cloths.  The old Switch a Roo!20140725_21144120140725_205950 I also used up all sorts of colored ric rac, that I found in my jar of bits and pieces.

Oh, and Grandgirlie number 1, politely asked for a rainbow colored dress for her birthday.  I had to take a day off of sewing baby things to sew a grown up 4 year old dress.  Oh yes, this grandma remembered to sew a jingle bell inside the dress and fill the pockets with stickers and other goodies. 20140730_082811

Being a Grandma is one of the best “jobs” in the whole world.   Have I mentioned lately, how much I LOVE my job?

 

 

9 thoughts on “burp the baby”

  1. You have a great job. Burp clothes. I am glad to hear they are still being made. Little muslin facecloths too? Maybe? I loved those for my babies.

Comments are closed.