grandchildren, grateful, haPPY, quilting, sewing

forest pathway

20140725_211441The parents of Grand #3 have chosen a forest theme for the nursery.  While sinking my toes into the lime green, shag rug (to mimic the grass), I looked at the beautiful dark wood crib and spied a mischievous fox peeking out from a storage container.   For some reason, the song “Teddy Bears Picnic” by Henry Hall started playing in my mind and I can’t find the pause button.

“There’s lots of marvelous things to eat and wonderful games to play 

Beneath the trees where nobody sees they’ll hide and seek as long 

as they please”

20140811_130221It was my privilege and honor to make the new perfect grand baby to be, a quilt.  I used the greens and browns of the nursery.  The pattern I chose is called “Forest Pathway”.  The quilting thread is lime green.

I purchased a sheet from their registry and promptly cut it up into pieces. Triangles were used for a celebration name banner, long rectangles were for the burp cloths and the remainder became the focal points for the quilt. 20140811_131342

Cut, stitched, quilted, labeled, wrapped in paper, mailed, opened, smiles shared….now we wait.

The quilt is safely tucked into a crib in California.  Just waiting, waiting to wrap a baby in love and goodness. DSCN5224

“Because today’s the day the Teddy Bears have their picnic”DSCN5222DSCN5219Welcome to our World.  

4 thoughts on “forest pathway”

Comments are closed.