grateful, pure goodness, recipe, thankful

so good, lick the spatula, good

Years ago, I found out that I was allergic to MSG.  I read books and did my research.  I learned about 28 different names they use for msg.  I read the hardest read of my life (thank you Dr. Russell Blaylock).   I keep a laminated card in my wallet, in case I get into trouble and I need emergency help.

I removed, what I thought was everything from the “mr. yuck” list.  Every once in a while, I would still have huge welts and my tongue would swell.  What the heck?  I just couldn’t figure it out.

I figured it out last week.

When we lived in Germany, I was introduced to and fell in love with Nutella.  Oh my stars.  An amazing little product of smashed Hazelnuts (my grandparents had a Hazelnut farm and I want my own nut farm, long story) and chocolate swirled together into a lovely concoction of pure joy.  I stopped eating this amazing mixture about two years ago.  Sadly, as I said goodbye to sugar and dairy, I had to say  a fond farewell to this treat .

I found out last week, one of the ingredients they call vanillin, is code for MSG.  Geesh, no wonder, I did not know that. That was a new name for me.

Enter amazing life changing recipe:   I was so grateful a friend pointed out this recipe to me.  I could almost hear the angels singing a heavenly tune.

20141111_084642Homemade Nutella.  (If you use raw almond milk, the entire recipe could be raw.)

If my chair was a bit higher, I would be swinging my legs, giggling while I typed.  As it was, I got to lick the spatula clean.  Oh my goodness, rich, thick, nutty goodness.  Then I licked my fingers.  Yes, rather unladylike, so delightful.

I am sure you can find the recipe on the amazing computer in front of you, however, I will write it quick so you can have a go at making this wonderful little extra in life.

First, soak 1 cup of raw hazelnuts for 10-12 hours.  Drain and rinse.  Put into the food processor or Blendtec.  Blend until smooth, scraping down as needed.  This may take 10-15 minutes as you are looking for a buttery consistency.   Then add 1/4 cup raw agave, 1 teaspoon natural vanilla, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 cup cocoa powder, 2-4 Tablespoons almond milk.  Blend until smooth and then slowly add the milk.

I put it into a squat little jar and tied a chocolate-brown ribbon around the top.  I wanted it in a jar, so I could “sneak” some now and then just like I used to.

We are in this together.  Here’s to delicious health and wellness!

2 thoughts on “so good, lick the spatula, good”

  1. Oh my goodness, I can taste this. And I am thinking. Almonds, mmmm, that might be tasty too. Mmmmm…we will have to see what happens in our house. LOL!!

    >

Comments are closed.