cooking, sewing

nude food

20141117_202316I recently read a blog post from a gal who said:

My children’s school, like many others in Australia, has weekly “nude food” days when children are asked to bring lunch in reusable containers without any wrappers and packaging.

I love that they are teaching awareness, health, environment …… and on and on.

You just know my brain was swirling and twirling.   I read the article & promptly ordered my food grade/safe polyurethane laminate  from http://www.wazoodle.com

I must say, the order was placed and before I even once wished it was here, it was.  Super speedy service.  love that.

20141117_202329I ordered lime green.  They offer oodles of food safe colors.  It was $9.95 a yard.   I will use cotton fabrics for the outside of my nude food sandwich keepers and snack bags.   I made a small snack size bag, however, I am thinking a larger snack bag will be perfect for car trips.

Last night,  I found myself in the sewing room.  I wanted to try out the new fabric.  A bit different from what I am used to.  However, I got the hang of it pretty quick.  I LOVE that the plastic if food grade safe.  That is HUGE in my world.  Trying to rid our lives of plastic is quite tricky. Toxins are bad mojo and if I can figure out a way to be exposed to less and less, than my family wins.

I am so grateful to have learned about this safe product.

I used scraps of cotton fabric that I had.  However, You KNOW I am going to have to find some Frozen theme fabric to make sandwich holders for the grandgirlies.  Oh, and probably something a bit more manly for Mr. Right to take to work.

20141117_202338Here’s to our health and wellness.   Here’s to super easy peasy sewing projects that will make great gifts you feel good about tucking into a stocking (minus the sandwich, ew).

Please share what you have done today to make healthier choices.  I would love to  steel borrow your smarty pants ideas, thanks.

Enjoy your healthy lunch.

ps.  No sandwich was harmed during my picture-taking.  I just used two pieces of bread and put them back when I was done. ha

20141117_202409

4 thoughts on “nude food”

  1. All sandwiches are breathing easier!!! They look fun, easy and better for all. Looking forward to the “fun and sassy” fabrics that you find.

Comments are closed.