grace, grateful, pure goodness, seek, Uncategorized, wellness

$25.00 in ones

I dug into my make up bag and found the one lipstick color that I really did not care for.  I took off the lid, I walked into the boys bathroom and started writing on the mirror.  Ugly poppy red lipstick.  I wanted to get rid of it and make a point.

Hey, I was a mom of two teenagers & I would try ANYTHING to get their attention.  I wrote in big letters.  I drew big swirls right in front of the sink, so they would have to either move to look in the mirror to “do” their hair or actually READ what I had written.

When they were younger their home schooling mom would use quotes of good behavior as sentence practice, penmanship, grammar & vocabulary.

With teens, our goals had become laser focused on raising humans that did not have a sense of entitlement. (We have all been witness to that trait and it is not a pretty picture, folks.)   We were trying to raise humans that were among other things,  well-educated, kind and of service.

On the mirror, I wrote:

To whom much is given, much is required.  

I did not add that it was a modern version of the Bible verse Luke 12:48.  I did not go any further. I did not elaborate.  I just let it hang there.

In big, slasher movie, red lipstick on the mirror letters………….I wrote that one sentence.

They sort of asked about it over breakfast.  It became a topic during our dinner time.

Over and over and over………that one sentence had struck a chord.  I tried, golly I tried, to look casual, nonchalant really.  I tried not to make a big deal out of it.  Just went on about my life. Looking busy and doing mom things, not really caring if they “got it” or not.  …….all while inwardly smiling and rubbing my hands together in glee!

dollar bills 2Yesterday, while doing a couple of errands,  I hit on an idea.  I gave away $3.00.

It was an idea on how to bathe myself in Grace.   I wanted to share my idea with you.

I am asking you nicely, today, please share this blog post with one other person. Thank you.   Very casual, no pressure, act like you don’t really care.  (that is the secret)

Weather or not you have kids still living at home, this might be the perfect gift this season. A gift for others and yourself.

Here’s what we do:

Get out your charity envelope.  I will wait.  (of course you HAVE a charity envelope that you ear mark money to give throughout the month.)

Yes, of course we all give money once a year to our favorite charities or church.  We write a check, and in a very non personal way, give to those in need.  Our hands don’t get dirty.  We don’t need to lug bags of groceries to the food bank, we don’t need to feel awkward about having so much while others have so little, we don’t have to think about it.  Very neat and tidy.  All done.  Brush hands and sadly, sometimes feel superior.

I am talking about the envelope you fill each month to give to others.  Yes, we are called to give.  Oops, if you didn’t know this, consider this your invitation.

This is what I did:  I took $25.00 out of the envelope and made change.  I now had a stack of 25 dollar bills.  I put a paper clip on the money and walked out and put it into the glove box of our car. dollar bills 3

I got my purse and coat and patted the dog on the head before I headed out.

I drove up to the grocery store.  Before I got out, I took one of the dollar bills and put it into my pocket.

Now, instead of avoiding the door (we have ALL done that) with the bell-ringer, I was happy to see them.  Instead of breathing deeply and thinking, “I just wanted to run in and get a tomato and an avocado.”   Instead of fumbling with purse, groceries, umbrella, coat, mittens and trying to find a bill or coins to put into the kettle, “I’ll get you next time, all I have is a $20.00″………………I happily and purposely donated my one dollar.

Now, if you have kids or teenagers tell them what the plan is.  They can help you look for the Salvation Army Bell Ringers.   It can become part of who you are as a family.  “Mom, I can hear that bell, let’s take a dollar.”  “Don’t forget the dollar.” Last night on a quick trip to the store, Mr. Right handed me a dollar before we got out of the car.  Apparently, he listened to my idea at dinner and was on board! woohoo!

We can all be of some service.  Instead of being a drudgery or an annoyance let’s find ways to give with a Happy Spirit.

Of course we will continue to give to special charities that we have researched.  Of course we will give to a family that needs an extra hand during this season.

These 25 acts of good karma, service, pure goodness, charity…………..could quite possibly make a huge difference.  Oh sure the money will add up.  Heck, I have 300 followers of this blog.  300 X 25.00 each………..you are smart readers…….you can do the math. We can all be part of something big, something wonderful.  Like a secret society that only we know about.  Well, us 300 smarty pants people and the other person you tell today.

If each one of us decide to take on this challenge, we would each be bathed in GRACE and GOODNESS 25 different times during the month of December.

dollar billsWhat I am saying is this, by pre-planning and having those one dollar bills hidden neatly away in the glove box, we are opening ourselves up to the opportunity to be of service and to be bathed in Grace and Goodness.  

Today, is December 2nd.  We have given away 3 of the dollar bills.  I am on a mission, I am using my word of the year here, I need to SEEK  22 other places to donate my dollars.  The goal of this happy, spirit filled game is to have no dollar bills left at the end of this month.

May you (and the friend you share this with) be bathed in Grace and Goodness with this project.   Thanks 25 times over for joining me.

Here’s to a very Spirit filled month!

ps.  Yes, I know it is not safe to keep money in your car.  Yes, I know it is considered bad manners to tell others what kind act you are doing.  Work with me people, please!

ps. again.  Good news, those two teenagers, grew up to be men of service.  said the happy mom.

2 thoughts on “$25.00 in ones”

  1. This is a great idea. I’m on board. I always, always give to the bell ringers and know of several people who have gone through the Salvation Army’s rehab program. They are still sober and clean. I get emotional just thinking about it. ❤ xo Joanne

Comments are closed.