gift giving, grace, grateful, haPPY

a place for sugarplums to dance

20141208_131916Thanks to Clement Clarke Moore……… we all know the story quite well.

 

The children were nestled all snug in their beds,

while visions of sugar plums danced in their heads.

And Mama in her ‘kerchief, and I in my cap,

had just settled our brains for a long winter’s nap.

 

Thanks to my sister-in-law and niece…… we know where sugar plums will dance, at least in the month of December.

We received a huge box in the mail.  Always, quite exciting to get mail so big, it is a chore to bring it into the house.  You have to prop open the door, get a hold of the box, lift with your knees, peer over the top as not to step on the dog’s paw, get it into the house and then look at it.

You look at the address to make sure it is for you.  ha  Then you look to see who mailed it.  Who on earth would spend so much to mail a box to us?   I wonder what is inside?  What could it be?

I wait for Mr. Right to come home.  We can open it together.  However, I do walk by the unopened box, several times.  I lift it a couple more times to help with my guessing.  I smile ear to ear each time.

Jeepers, now that I think about it, I have never once in all my life every received a box and it was bad news.  It has always been: interesting, exciting, thrilling, funny, happy, cheerful some type of celebration about to take place.

My stomach kind of flipped over a couple of times with giddy.  You know, nothing bad, just butterflies in your stomach and smiling the whole time.  Guessing, oh, the guessing went on all afternoon.

Finally, Mr. Right got home.  He cut open the box and stepped back.  He let me gingerly lift the flaps and peek inside.  WHAT?  Are you kidding me?  Is it the right size?  Really?  Oh my stars!

20141208_125022I can’t believe it.  My sister-in-law and niece had somehow managed to send “Christmas” in a box.  That’s right.  They had figured out a way to send a cozy, comfy, wonderful piece of the holiday right to our door.   Those two silly girls had put their heads together and designed a way to bathe us in Grace and Goodness.

So from Vermont to Washington……………… we all have a place to lay our heads and nap and dream of sugar plums dancing.

ps.  I am sure, my SIL  and niece will appreciate all the glitter intertwined in the garland on the headboard.  I have a feeling Mr. Right will have a comment or two.  20141208_131954

May you all receive wonderful surprise gifts from loved ones through the mail.

Sweet Dreams

4 thoughts on “a place for sugarplums to dance”

  1. I noticed your own personal “angel on the shelf” overseeing the joy of Christmas shared by your family. Your blessings are overflowing.

Comments are closed.