grace, grandchildren, grateful, haPPY, Uncategorized

Merry Christmas to all!

20141218_091307I am sitting here, listening to Glen Campbell belt something out about pretty paper, a full glass of green juice and a bowl that is overflowing with fresh made popcorn. 20141218_113959 (1)

Mr. Right is sequestered in the sewing room.  (I took the sewing machine down from the table, hid my sewing scissors and rotary cutter.)  I put a pair of paper cutting scissors, a pen, tape, his knife to cut paper, a hat box full of bows and ribbons and what not and wrapping paper, yards and yards of wrapping paper.  The tags and a pen are there.

Hey, a girl has to offer all the comforts of a pleasant wrapping gift station.

The door is closed.  I sort of think when he was 9 years old, he was the kind of boy who wrote a sign and taped it to the door.  Stay OUT!  No girls.  Important stuff going on.  haha

Our delicious amazing Seafood Christmas Eve supper is in the history books & dishes are done.  Oh good heavens, some King Crab from Alaska gave his life for us to enjoy such a sumptuous meal.  True Alaskan Royalty. The prawns were cooked perfectly.  Oh, good news, we were able to set aside a bit of crab and shrimp for our morning Seafood crepes.  The crepe batter is chilling as I type.

We are watching the clock.  We get to Skype with one of the grands in less than one hour!

A couple of updates:

The Salvation Army charity money is all gone.  It was a successful project.

The gingerbread house was built and smells heavenly. 20141219_210404

20141219_222249The trees are lit and every window has a candle.

All the gifts are wrapped.

Zucchini “cheese” is chilling.  (good news, I took a sample, and I am so pleased).

The Rosemary Infused Pear Sorbet was heavenly after our heavy supper.  Simply divine.

We had a holiday dinner at our very, very favorite Buddhist restaurant.  I LOVE that the owner told the family beside us Happy Hanukkah.  Then he turn and told us Merry Christamas!  I love that he adds an extra a (and syllable)  in the word Christmas.  I LOVE that he appreciates all our different quirks and religions and celebrations.  A true gentleman. 20141208_153352

Last Saturday, date night was amazing.  I loved wearing a fancy girlie dress.  I adored the heaviness of the necklace around my neck.  Oh yes, I am still elevating my knee and babying it back to health. I gotta tell you, walking up a flight of stairs, in high heels, with good posture, in a fancy dress with my hand on Mr. Right’s arm was worth every single step.  I have worked hard to be able to do just that.  I was so pleased with myself.  I don’t say that too often.  Ah, a sneak peek into the new year and goals…………..

One thing I fell in love with at the symphony, besides the well-behaved children, oodles of red clothing, the stunning conductor, the three young sisters having their picture taken by the beautiful Christmas tree……………….my all time favorite thing………………. during intermission, we came back to our amazing seats, stood, looking at the other guests…………and there I spotted her.  A diamond so big on her ring finger, I could see it from a balcony away.  Her white hair, perfectly in place.  Not a hair out-of-order.  Her jaunty red sweater and stunning long black skirt.  It was her hands that caught my eyes.  She held a …………….wait for it…………….cell phone.  She was madly texting away.  Who was she texting?  Her granddaughter?  Her neighbor at the assisted living home?  Her girlfriend who could not attend?  Her sister in Vermont?  If a 90-year-old lady can text her friend, by George, so can I!  I hope she was a bit silly.  I hope she was texting someone back at the home………..how is your bread pudding?  I am having an amazing time at the Seattle Symphony and here is a selfie to prove it.  haha  made me giggle.

I must say, I thought this season I would be a Debbie Downer.  The three grands live in other states and we miss them.  However, the parents have been extra good about sharing pictures almost daily.  We get to see them and laugh and giggle when we Skype.  It was so much easier on our hearts to count how lucky we are than to bemoan the fact that they don’t live in our town.  Actually, it turned out okay.

Everything seems in order.  We wait for midnight.  Quietly.  Peacefully.

I want to take a moment to extend my heartfelt and warmest wishes for a very Merry Christmas to all of you & yours.  Please let all the drama and craziness fall away.

 

May each of us be bathed in the Grace of the moment.  No matter what you celebrate, may you find joy and happy in how you do just that.

Thank you kindly for following my blog.  Thank you for leaving uplifting messages.   You have most certainly added a sparkle to my celebration this month.  I appreciate that you let me know you are out there.  I appreciate your kind spirit.

We are in this together, makes it way easier to walk in high heels up those stairs when you have someone’s hand to hold.

20141218_084037Thanks for holding my hand this year.

Merry Christmas to each of you.

From my heart to yours.

…………..fingers crossed Santa brings me a new glass measuring cup & maybe the earrings I am wishing for and left oodles of hints about……………………   I will let you know how it turns out!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Merry Christmas to all!”

  1. Merry Christmas my friend!! I hope Santa is very good to you!! The joy has been ours to walk hand in hand. Together we will charge into 2015 with a full heart, much grace and a bit of sassiness.

  2. Wonderful blog. It brought a smile to my face.
    Merry Christmas, dear friend. (When you’re 90 at the symphony. Text me. Who am I kidding? By then it will some new fangled do hicky. Hope I figure it out. Lol)

Comments are closed.