fresh, gift giving, grace, haPPY, sewing

sweet pillow talk

20150115_122848Just as an accomplished chef likes to enjoy an easy sandwich and cup of soup on a cold Sunday evening, a seamstress sometimes like a quick, cheap, no sew project.

Once in a while, we are all looking for something that can be created lickity split and for a reasonable amount of money.  Here is the skinny, for $4.37 or if you need to purchase a 18″ X 18″pillow form $7.49 (with a Joann’s coupon), this sweet project is easy on the pocketbook.

Who knew Hobby Lobby sold pillow covers for $3.99 ($2.39 with a coupon….on your phone, silly)?   20150115_113314Seriously, this was news to me.  If you knew this and didn’t share………why the heck not?   Nicely made, with a zipper and they had oodles of color and pattern choices.  What an excellent find.  What I am trying to nicely say here friends, is for a very reasonable amount of money, you can recover, refresh, revive those stain covered, sad-looking toss pillows on your sofa or bed.  Yes, I am speaking to you!

I also picked up two pieces of peel and stick craft felt for .99 cents each.20150115_113836

Which means, if you have a day care worker you want to give a pat on the back to , or would like to mail a lightweight, unbreakable care package to your sweet daughter who could use a spirit lift, or surprise a co-worker or study group leader…………this is your lucky day.  Have I got a sweet idea for you.

Less expensive and just as sassy, stick the letters onto the pillow cover and pop it into a padded envelope and surprise your girlfriend who lives miles and miles away.  For less than $5.00 you can spread LOVE across the land. (I bet she has a pillow she could stuff into her brand new LOVE pillow cover.)

I have a couple friends who (GASP) do not own a sewing machine.  Strange and silly?  No, honest truth!  Girl Scout honor………..no sewing machine.  While you are gasping for air, let me just add I happen to know a couple of families that don’t own an iron?  WHAT?  yes, more truth.  So this craft is peel off paper and stick on. done. 

Yes, that easy.

Don’t ya think we all could use some extra LOVE?  It’s a win, win.  You make a quick project, you smile and are happy.  You give to someone else who is then happy.  They are happy all day and treat everyone they meet with LOVE and sweetness.  Yes, that easy.

I tripped over this brilliant idea by Ann over on her blog called,  “On Sutton Place”.  http://www.onsuttonplace.com/2015/01/diy-no-sew-valentine-love-pillow-cover/  May I gently suggest you go there now.  Snoop around.  She seems like one of those great people you want to sit and have coffee with and chat and laugh.  Or someone you want to hang out with in their craft room and soak in the good vibes she puts out there.  I tell ya, just by going to her blog, you can feel the goodness oozing off her page.  Heck, she shared this great quick craft idea for free………..she must be one sassy lady.

“I woke up in love this morning, went to sleep with you on my mind.”  The Partridge Family

 

12 thoughts on “sweet pillow talk”

    1. I am learning.
      Not every single craft project needs to be a 350+ hour hand quilted whole cloth quilt or a 85 hour linen cross stitched piece.
      Sometimes, quick and easy can be very satisfying.
      I did a little 2 hour cross stitch project for a friend and it was sure joyful to accomplish so quickly.
      Also, not every craft needs to cost $75.00 to frame.
      I am on the look out for more easy, quick, satisfying, HAPPY projects.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      D

  1. “LOVE” (hehehe) your idea about quick and HAPPY projects. Spreadin’ the LOVE is a good thing. Makes everyone feel GOOD about themselves!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Okay, I admit… I don’t own an iron or sewing machine, but I do wield a mean embossing gun! I love your idea, I may even try it out!! Thanks for brightening my day! Love ya, girlfriend :)))

Comments are closed.