fresh, gift giving, grace, haPPY, healing, thankful, wellness

when life gives you lemons…

If you are old enough, after you read this post, you will be singing along with The Beatles, all day long.   If you are not old enough, you may want to check it out on You Tube.  Catchy little tune.

 

Here comes the sun, 

Here comes the sun. 

And I say, it’s all right. 

Little darling, it’s been a long cold lonely winter. 

Little darling,m it feels like years since it’s been here. 

 

Yesterday, the mailman left a 17 pound box of a surprise on our door step.

20150319_100442What the heck could someone mail me that weighs 17 pounds?

Sunshine and healing that’s what!!!!!

The sunshine and healing came in the form of ……17 GLORIOUS pounds of fresh picked Meyer Lemons!

Our home smells like a beautiful lemon tree that is bursting forth in all her glory.  Oh my stars!  You can almost feel the healing and goodness just looking at my pictures. 20150319_112114

When life (read that as friends from sunny California) gives you lemons you make: 20150319_170608

Apple Cider Lemonade

Lemon herb rice

20150319_173324Lemon tarts

save 14 lemons out to use for this week’s juicing adventure (yes, we use 14 lemons a week)

juice 2 for humus and guacamole to make today

Give 4 away………..Hey, there is NO WAY, I am chancing being a greedy Gus and nixing my good fortune and karma! (yes, folks, you have to GIVE away a portion of your good fortune………….or it will circle around and bite you.  fact.  Do not mess with karma.)

My brain is still twirling and swirling as to what else I can make.

Marinate some fish with lemons, onions and fresh parsley…….Coho Salmon on the grill is a favorite.

A splash of fresh lemon with some raspberries ………….hello beautiful sorbet. 20150319_100458

My 8-year-old friend painted an amazing sunshine, just for me.  She wanted to share her California Sunshine with Miss Daleen.  I can “feel” that sunshine warming my bones.  Glorious sunshine.

Here in the Pacific Northwest, we don’t get super frigid winters with mile high mounds of snow.  What we do get is gloomy, gray, dark days. We get drizzle and pouring rain.  We get chilly, cloudy, dull, no color days………….

20150319_124216From the mouths of babes…………….

Sun, Sun, Sun, here it comes!

ps.  have I mentioned lately what a lucky/grateful girl I am?

 

 

10 thoughts on “when life gives you lemons…”

Comments are closed.