Uncategorized

soul food

I just finished reading, “The Apple Orchard” by Susan Wiggs.

It is the perfect end of summer read.  A book to read for the sake of relaxation.

I found myself picking it up so often, that 425 pages were eaten up in 3 or 4 days.  Wonderful entertainment to escape our daily, real life, sometimes with not so pleasant issues.

I recommended it to a friend.  She asked, via text,  “What’s this book about”?

I replied via text.  (I mention that because, it is supposed to be short, concise answers not an entire paragraph.)

Well written, fluff,  relaxing, family, sisters, running an orchard, food, mystery, a touch of romance, autumn, harvest………worth your spare time.

After finishing the book, a feeling of goodness has stayed with me.

One sentence, in particular has stayed with me.

The art of creating in the kitchen is good for the soul.

I fell head over heels in love with that sentence.  I know making Apple Kraut and allowing20150811_115644 it to mellow on the counter for five days, makes me smile and fills my soul with the goodness to come.

I adore making amazing food and sharing a sneak peek to Mr. Right.  In the hopes that his stomach will growl 20150812_174723and he will find his way home much quicker on that day.

I try and take mouth-watering pictures to pique his interest.

I constantly wish for a “Willy Wonka” type of cell phone.  One you can send smells and aromas via magical little particles.

I want to send him the amazing aroma of cipollino onions browning slow and low in a black iron skillet.  I want to send Mr. Right  the vibrant color of my Chihuly Salad along with the tang of lime in the air. 20150812_145520-1Here’s the thing, for the most part we take this stuff for granted.  Day in and Day out I cook.  We all cook.

I don’t want to be afraid of what people might say.  I really honestly don’t care that people talk about me like I am a housewife from the 50’s.  “nobody cooks from scratch anymore”.

I do.  I do it every single day.  My husband is worth the effort.  I am worth the effort.  Our dog is worth the effort.  It goes with out mentioning our children and grands are so worth the effort.

I adore my husband.  I am thrilled to come up with amazing food that he likes and enjoys.

Doing so, does indeed feed my soul.  Then in turn, his soul is fed by the food made by my hands.

Oh, and don’t forget, I find it a privilege to cook and bake for my friends.  It is my sincere pleasure to share with our friends.  Wait, don’t think I am like a 25-year-old, just learning to bake and wanting to make friends.  Giving away everything to anyone.  I like to trade like anyone else.

I adore baking rolls and sharing.  However, after several attempts or invitations for sharing a meal at our home, if it is not returned, I am okay with that.  I won’t push my cooking, baking, soul food onto others.

There is something of value about soul cooking. It nourishes the people that I adore and love.

Baking and cooking for our family is something I value.  I take great pride in the job I do.

No, it is not popular to say, I made this ravioli from scratch.

No, it is not popular to say, I made this apple crisp from scratch.

No, it is not popular to say, this soup, pie, bread, Almond Milk, salad, kraut, rice and beans………..are all from scratch.

While it IS popular to say, I bought it at a big box store.  So much easier and cheaper.  I am busy.  I don’t have time to cook or bake……………..

I don’t want to fit in.  I thought I did, once.

I am old enough now, not to believe that for one moment.

When I send a picture of falafel patties waiting to be gently cooked and edges made brown and crispy, the moment he gets home………..I know he will be eager to join me at the dinner table.

May the food on your table tonight feed your heart and soul.

4 thoughts on “soul food”

  1. thanks for the recommend! I’m reading something non-fiction that has the same theme, The Feast Nearby by Robin Mather. So far so good, even tho the wilds of Michigan are quite different from suburban Auckland, New Zealand!

  2. I believe in home cooking. It does feed the soul. The evening I returned from my trip I made fish, sauteed eggplant from the garden and mashed potatoes. Jim came home and said, wow, the house smells good!
    Cooking is therapeutic for me. I love it.
    xo

Comments are closed.