recipe, Uncategorized

Sweet relief

Several reputable sources  (including the University of Cincinnati) state:  the eating of sweet may decrease the production of stress-related hormone glucocorticoid.

What? A taste of sweet can reduce stress?

Hallelujah!!!

Now, by no means does that mean run out and buy a bag of chemical filled candy and start gobbling them like a child let loose in a candy store.

That means, having really lovely treats on hand, quite possibly stored in your refrigerator, so that now and then, you can indulge.

Somehow tucked in amongst the food, pounds and pounds of food during this holiday season, we are called to be grateful.

There are many, many things in my life for which I am grateful.

I am trying not to sound shallow.  News flash!  I am mighty grateful for a sweet now and then.

I am grateful for the one perfect sweet I ate in the town square in Brussels, Belgium.  I am grateful for the one perfectly formed Victoria Cream I ate in Victoria, British Columbia. I am mighty grateful for the slice of Blackberry Pie I indulged in while visiting Vermont.

With all the pies and cookies and candies and treats dancing around  me, sometimes it is easy for me to be frustrated and discouraged.

Sugar treats are not on my list of “can do”.  So, I get grumbly and fussy and  I want that candy AND I WANT IT NOW!

Okay, maybe not that bad.  However, late after noon, with a warm beverage, a slightly sweet treat is perfect.

Oh, please don’t forget to use beautiful doilies and shimmering mini cup cake papers.  You and I are so worth the extra effort.

20151123_133612-1May I gently suggest a Chocolate Mocha Haystack?

1 cup shredded coconut, 1/4 cup + 1 Tablespoon coconut flour, 1/4 cup cocoa powder, 1/4 cup maple syrup, 2 Tablespoons raw almond butter, 1/3 cup coconut oil, 1/4 cup coffee, 1 teaspoon vanilla and a dash of real salt.

Heat your coconut oil until just melted.  Mix all ingredients together. Using your hands, form little haystacks and place them on parchment paper and refrigerate for an hour.  Keep refrigerated.  Enjoy every single stress free moment.

I am grateful, very grateful for Mr. Right, who found and suggested this recipe.  It makes me giddy that he is always thinking of me.

 

