art, artist, beauty, color, friendship, grateful, haPPY, Uncategorized

ripples of kindness

When you plop a pebble into an undisturbed pond, you instantly get a circle, then another and so on.  The ripples spread in concentric circles quickly.  For some reason, you can’t take your eyes off the simplistic beauty.  That very first plop in the center.  You are in the moment. That center is where goodness begins.

This is a real life story about ripples.

You might remember the story I wrote about the planting kindness…the poinsettia?  Ring a bell?   It was just a couple of weeks ago.  Seems like gallons of water have gone under the bridge in a very short time.  Our gifts have been mailed, all the Christmas cards have been licked shut & sent on their way.  Even a couple of the candle bulbs in the window have already been replaced.

https://sundayschildfullofgrace.wordpress.com/2015/12/01/planting-kindness/

I shared that story, having no idea who or how many would read it.

Sunday, we hosted a memorable dinner party.  You know the kind?  You make an extra pot of coffee during dessert, the conversation is so lively and uplifting.  You want the evening to last longer.  You think about moving everyone into the other room to more comfortable chairs…..then one story leads to another & another and the laugher rolls on.  Somehow the company & conversation is so delightful and smart and thundering forward it slips your mind to move.  You can’t wait to hear which direction the stories will twist. You want to listen & share & learn more of each person.  While the food is exceptional, it pales in comparison to the company around the table.

A dinner party so lively and interesting that you are able to take pictures of the food preparations before the guests arrive and then you quickly toss your phone in a drawer and never give it a second thought.  You have unplugged the telephone because you want your guest to feel that important. You honor yourself enough to turn off the distractions and be in the moment.

A gathering of such smart & sassy friends that it never once crosses your mind or anyone else for that matter,  to take pictures of the people or food to share on social media.

An evening so perfect, you become private and want to hold the moment dear. You don’t want to share.  It will be forever imprinted on the minds of those gathered.  Such a special moment in time, all else is secondary. Sometime during the evening, you have a warm feeling and you just know this is where you were meant to be. A moment marked in time.

One of the special guests, seated at our table,  is an artist.  An artist that just happened to read my post about poinsettias.

As artists will do, they seek and gather inspiration from everywhere.  One morning in the early hours prior to dawn, the artist had to get out of bed, to paint.  The painting was already in her head, she just needed to get it out & onto canvas.  The brush strokes were fast and furious.  The saturated color became more intense with each layer.  The inspiration was calling to be shared.

This particular artist & painting have grabbed the attention of several and marched on to already win several prestigious awards.

The painting has a name,  “Miss Daleen’s Poinsettia.” 

To say I was honored is an understatement.  Took my breath away faster than being on the downward track of a roller coaster.  Such a grand gesture along with my name given to such a work of beauty.  I have never ever, ever had a painting named after me.  Blushing just typing that.

When I think of my friend’s dad,  giving the poinsettias and my request for planting kindness in the month of December, I get all soft and gooey inside.   I know of FOUR poinsettias that have been given to others just for goodness sake.

The ripples in a pond.

The first pebble in this story was tossed by Craig.

The circles are growing,  kindness is spreading.

As dinner drew to a close, my friend got up and handed me a wrapped gift.  It was huge.  My Spidy sense told me to pay attention, this is one of those moments in life.  I carefully tore the paper.  I could feel the cold of the glass.  I felt the heft of the frame.  Mr. Right winked at me across the table.20151221_205454-1_resized

Miss Daleen’s Poinsettia was in my hands.

It took my breath away.  My eyes watered.  I stumbled with the only words I could say.

Thank you.

The ripples of kindness splashed all over me & colored me grateful.

Kindness is spreading.

 

10 thoughts on “ripples of kindness”

  1. I am so happy that I get to be Craig’s daughter, and I am thrilled that I am Daleen’s friend. Your artist friend is right: you bring out the best in all the people whose life you touch. XOXO

  2. First, I would like to elaborate on the Stupendous Dinner that Miss Daleen prepared! ❤️ Five star Restaurants have been put to shame! Our Fabulous dinner was painstakingly prepared and was the absolute best meal I have ever had the privilege of sharing, along with the most amazing people to share it with! The first course was fresh shrimp made with homemade sugar free cocktail sauce and garnished with fresh cucumber sliced fancy, baby arugula, carrot and a slice of lemon. Next came the main course of Cedar Plank Salmon that Bruce(Miss Daleen’s husband of 33 years) cooked to perfection, outside in the pouring rain, intrepid Master of the bbq disappeared now and then to check the progress of his charge. Visually, the setting was no less than perfection. Martha Stewart would be envious of Miss Daleen’s eye for detail, from the Scotch plaid placemats to the spoon rest and mini crystal salt container! The meal was divine and Crushed Potatoes drenched in butter, seasoning and fresh Rosemary complimented the Salmon Perfectly! Dessert was three fold, I will call them layers of goodness. First we had the visual temptation of chocolate mousse served in a fluted Crystal dessert vessel, the side had been drizzled with pure Chocolate goodness, the Mousse was light and fluffy and so delicious that I was tempted to scrap the sides of the glass! I refrained! ❤️ along with our Mousse, Miss Daleen had baked not one, but two of the most mouthwater cookies I have laid my eyes on! They were both Gluten Free, sugar free and dairy free. Hands down the best cookies I have ever had! I also was blessed with a beautiful tin full of said cookies, I will say a few made it home for my Hubby to enjoy; he wanted more). We arrived at 5 pm, the evening flew by starting with the “tour”, we got to admire Miss Daleen’s beautiful Quilts, from room to room we were completely enthralled with the beauty and grace of Miss Daleen’s Stunning home. House Beautiful could do an entire issue on Miss Daleen’s amazing style and ability to draw you into her cozy retreat! I didn’t want the evening to end as evident by my Sister letting me know the lateness of the hour! We departed with a greeting from the family dog Miss Liberty, who has been sequestered into a back room for the entire evening. She is a lovely Golden Retriever and her gentle greeting made us feel like family. Hugs where exchanged and good byes said! The end of the most memorable evening had drawn to a close. Thank you Miss Daleen for your ripple in my life, the best friendship I have ever known. ❤️

  3. First, I would like to elaborate on the Stupendous Dinner that Miss Daleen prepared! ❤️ Five star Restaurants have been put to shame! Our Fabulous dinner was painstakingly prepared and was the absolute best meal I have ever had the privilege of sharing, along with the most amazing people to share it with! The first course was fresh shrimp made with homemade sugar free cocktail sauce and garnished with fresh cucumber sliced fancy, baby arugula, carrot and a slice of lemon. Next came the main course of Cedar Plank Salmon that Bruce(Miss Daleen’s husband of 33 years) cooked to perfection, outside in the pouring rain, intrepid Master of the bbq disappeared now and then to check the progress of his charge. Visually, the setting was no less than perfection. Martha Stewart would be envious of Miss Daleen’s eye for detail, from the Scotch plaid placemats, Crystal Water glasses to the spoon rest and mini crystal salt container! The meal was divine and Crushed Potatoes drenched in butter, seasoning and fresh Rosemary complimented the Salmon Perfectly! Dessert was three fold, I will call them layers of goodness. First we had the visual temptation of chocolate mousse served in a fluted Crystal dessert vessel, the side had been drizzled with pure Chocolate goodness, the Mousse was light and fluffy and so delicious that I was tempted to scrap the sides of the glass! I refrained! ❤️ Along with our Mousse, Miss Daleen had baked not one, but two of the most mouthwater cookies I have laid my eyes on! They were both Gluten Free, sugar free and dairy free. Hands down the best cookies I have ever had! I also was blessed with a beautiful tin full of said cookies, I will say a few made it home for my Hubby to enjoy; he wanted more). We arrived at 5 pm, the evening flew by starting with the “tour”, we got to admire Miss Daleen’s beautiful Quilts, from room to room we were completely enthralled with the beauty and grace of Miss Daleen’s Stunning home. House Beautiful could do an entire issue on Miss Daleen’s amazing style and ability to draw you into her cozy retreat! I didn’t want the evening to end as evident by my Sister letting me know the lateness of the hour! We departed with a greeting from the family dog Miss Liberty, who has been sequestered into a back room for the entire evening. She is a lovely Golden Retriever and her gentle greeting made us feel like family. Hugs where exchanged and good byes said! The end of the most memorable evening had drawn to a close. Thank you Miss Daleen for your ripple in my life, the best friendship I have ever known. ❤️

Comments are closed.