Uncategorized

Flourish

My heart is beating faster, stronger, I can feel the tempo building.  The music is becoming louder, more intense as the momentum builds.  The excitement is palpable in the auditorium.  The conductor is moving with purpose.  He is up on his toes, the tails of his jacket are jumping up and down, the fabric across his shoulder blades is being stretched taut and tested.  If you have ever seen Gustavo Dudamel conduct a symphony you know exactly what I mean.

Webster’s Dictionary describes it this way: flourish conductor

to brandish dramatically; gesticulate with; a conductor flourishing his baton for the crescendo.

to be in a vigorous state; thrive

to be at the height of excellence

to sound a trumpet call or fanfare

to grow luxuriantly or thrive in growth








 

Smell that?  It is a really old fashioned black magic marker.  (? what was the magic part?)  Really stinky and thick.  So thick the magic ink bleeds through the paper.  It makes the paper wet with the ink that transferred from the felt wide tip. I just grabbed the marker and went back and forth across the page.  It is messy and stinky and my guess is full of nasty chemicals and dye.

That was me drawing a before and after line. Feels wonderful, amazing and the time is right.  Fresh clean paper, oh the possibilities.

I have walked this road for 3 years.  I am tired of hurting.  I am tired of being the ill, sick girl.     I spend at least 2 hours of my day healing.  I take 52 supplements 6 days a week.  I daily bike 4 miles and rebound.  I drink 64 ounces of fresh green juice 6 days a week.  I research and learn and study 1 hour each and every day.

The time has come.  I am ready.  I want to gently let loose of the very sick, broken and not well, quiet, fearful person and replace with excellence, vibrancy and wellness.  I don’t want to allow my illness to be my “thing”.  flourish, Chinese ribbon dancer

Sure, sure, I have those days when I am still not tip top, however, this is the year that I want to choose to thrive and flourish in wellness and health on a regular basis.  I want to focus on flourishing.

When I was at the bottom of the old barrel, I was dumbfounded at my poor handwriting.  I would cry and be so upset.  This is not me.  This is not what my handwriting looks like.  What happened?  Why is my brain not working correctly?

The other day, I was writing a thank you note.  The envelope was laying there next to my basket of colorful pens.  I used the traditional Palmer handwriting method……………except to the graceful, classic, fluid look……….I added swirls and curls and well, I added FLOURISH.

I ended up smiling.  The flourish was back.  Time to get out the gel markers and make a statement to the world!  I am back and nobody or nothing is going to erase my curly ques!

You can earn 14 points for the word value in Scrabble.  Yes, my brain is working again and once again, now and then I am victorious during a Scrabble match.  I throw my arms in the air  with flourish and yell in a very un-lady like  fashion…………I am the winner!

I have chosen my word for the year.

FlourishLogo-copy

Last year my word was Mercy.  It served me well.  It was the perfect choice for me at the time.  This is a brand new clean slate and I am ready.  I am more than ready to flourish.

Have you chosen your word for 2016?  I would love to hear about it, please share in the comment section.

The time has come.  The trumpets are blasting and fanfare is so loud you can feel it in your very being.

All the work and effort and practice and studying has paid off.  The music has built to the crescendo.  Arms are flailing and concentration is at the very peak, you can feel the energy.

Happy and Healthy New Year to each and every one of us. 

May we all FLOURISH!

Flourish, texas logo

2 thoughts on “Flourish”

Comments are closed.