recipe, recipe comfort food, Uncategorized

more soup please

Yesterday, it hit 60 in our neck of the woods.  While warming up, I still want it to be winter.  I am not done basking in soup and sweater weather. 

If you are looking for a home air fragrance that makes your mouth water, may I suggest simmering sweet potato, onion and garlic…lots of garlic (use double the amount suggested) because those ingredients combined makes your house smell like a home.  So warm and cozy and fragrant.  20160209_102105-1

 

This soup sounded good right away and then turned out a hundred times better than I had anticipated.  I love how the broccoli is roasted and then put on the soup at the very last possible moment. 

(Instead of the cheesy broccoli soup we all recall with broccoli being blended beyond recognition.)

Let’s be honest, sometimes when recipes is billed as “dairy free” sometimes the results are less than stellar.  I am happy to report this is not the case.  You won’t even have to mention that it is dairy free.  Yes, Virginia, that good.  

 

The sweet potato is what gives this soup it’s glorious color and velvet texture.  The nutritional yeast is what brings the cheese flavor.  I have NO IDEA what the dill pickle juice offers, and yet, it is a “quite can’t put your finger on ” flavor, that I for one am glad is there.  The fresh cracked pepper does indeed bring something to this party.  

 

As a dairy free soup, I must say it is one of the best ones I have made.  Silky velvet texture with just the right amount of tang.  The color is saturated and just what I was needing from a “cheese” soup. 

Once again, The Vegan8 has outdone herself.  Gosh, that gal can cook and create.  Mr. Right said last night, “every recipe we try from her is outstanding.” 

http://thevegan8.com/2016/02/09/sweet-potato-broccoli-cheese-soup/

 

Mr. Right enjoyed as his first course.  I chose to have as the main dish.  We both were very happy clean bowl club members.  A little bit of lefties for one more serving.

In need of some comfort in the form of food, glorious food?  Here’s a lovely bowl of soup!20160209_174655-1  

In this together.  Here’s to our health and wellness!

