goodness, grace, grandchildren, grateful, sewing, sewing for grandchildren, Uncategorized

pressure cooker

Once, smack dab in the middle of the week before Christmas I started reading the latest Danielle Steel book.

You know the drill, Christmas, many moons ago, back when the boys were in pageants at church, gave gifts to school friends and teachers and were still young enough to be a bit squirrely as Christmas approached. After we lit the Advent candle/s and had a family meal, there was something planned/written on the calendar every single week night.  Pictures with Santa, a trip to feed real Reindeer and of course reading Christmas stories each night. The weekend rolled around and somehow we had to juggle a couple of invitations and managed to make it to all the parties, host one of our own and still take lovely thoughtful hostess gifts and handmade gifts for family and friends.  I wrapped gifts many a nights.  Almost became a tradition to race out two nights before the big day to buy more stocking stuffers.

It all became too big.  One morning, alone, I drove to the library.  I checked out one of the “hot picks”.  I drove straight home and poured myself a soda and started reading.

It was pure bliss.  Not one word of the story had anything to do with responsibilities & not a word was written about a holiday.   I would find time during the day to read a chapter or two.  I would finish wrapping more gifts at 1 in the morning, then stay up until 2 am to read more of the book.

I guess I needed a break.  I needed some place for the steam to escape.

Once, smack dab in the middle of moving to a new home, I decided to sew a dress for grand #2.  Her birthday is next month and I wanted to make sure I had something home-made just for her.  I purchased a card, bought a book she asked for and then I settled down to created the perfect owl jumper.  I put it in a special box and marked the box with huge letters  “SWEET GIRL’S BIRTHDAY GIFT”.

I made sure the sewing room was the very last on the list to be packed into cardboard boxes.   I needed my machine, scissors, pins and needles.  I needed to be able to sew a jingle bell inside.20160219_161024

Yes, all little girls need to have a jingle bell sewn into their dresses.  It reminds them that I am thinking about them and sending them oodles of goodness their way.  It reminds them that they are special.

I wanted to stop, right in the middle of the kaos, clutter, boxes, tape, sharpie marker and create something that she will love.

I guess I needed a break?  I needed a place for the steam to escape. As exciting and wonderful it is to be moving, the pressure cooker had reached its limit.  The steam was starting to sputter.

20160219_160954-1I wanted to make Sweet grand #2 more important than anything else in my world.

I am the luckiest girl in the world to have 3 grands.  It was of utmost importance that I stop every thing and make sewing the perfect owl jumper more important than anything.

It is my mission in life to always let our grands know they are the most important thing in our world.20160219_161034

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “pressure cooker”

Comments are closed.