art, artist, good karma, goodness, grace, love, Uncategorized

abandoned (he)art

I can’t sugar coat it any longer, exhaustion has hit.  The feeling is as heavy as a sopping wet wool blanket draped over me.  It feels dark and ominous.  Just getting out of bed and doing the day’s chores has become monumental.

Packing and moving is tricky, frustrating, thrilling, happy and all whipped together it makes you dog tired. A bit over tired.  Once we spend a month or so back in a routine of exercise, good food and juicing, things will return to some sort of balance.

I caught myself sitting and staring at nothing.

Sewing or stitching calms my spirit and helps me breathe.  However, the thought of beginning a huge sewing project or quilt is just too much.  The things that normally tickle my fancy……..shopping for fabric, choosing colors, pinning the quilt together, well to tell the truth, are just too much for me right now.

I really felt the need to create something.  Maybe something small, easy, pretty.  Creating things help me get back in balance.

20160421_161033As so many times in life, the project “found” me.

Actually a California friend shared the idea (no, we have never met in person………..I think we found each other through a wellness group online)……..she seems like the kind of person I would want to hang out with.  Explore a cool outdoor museum and then have some really great fish tacos at a stand near the beach, all while talking about planting organic potatoes.

Side note:  Don’t you think it is wackadoodle how I imagine friendships?  I honestly don’t know if she plants potatoes or not.  Nor do I know if she eats fish tacos.  Just something about her slips through the computer screen.  Good, kind, funny, smarty pants, cool, lovely, a bit mischievous and inspiring. 

Anyway, she found a group giving away love.  Yes, love and goodness.  It is a group on Facebook called, I found a quilted heart  .  http://www.ifoundaquiltedheart.com/

She shared the idea and just like our imaginary organic potatoes, it took root.

The idea is simple.

20160421_152427Make a heart.  Give it away.  Spread some love and kindness.  The end.

Just a random act of making art and then abandoning it for some other soul to find & somehow magically bathing that person in love and grace.  Not through lots of chatter.  No names.  No sewing rules or skill level needed. No person to thank.  Pinned with a short note:  Take me Home.  (On the back the website to share if you found a heart.)

In case you have forgotten, there is good in the universe.  Between the bills, the sorrow, the hurt, the brutal actions of some, the loneliness, the poverty, the constant bad news and yes the exhaustion……..kindness and love slip through the cracks.

Like a perfect purple flower taking root in the crack of the sidewalk.20160421_161039

One  person, channeling the good in the universe and making a small heart for another human.  A gentle reminder that they are loved.  Both of the people.  One having a job to make the heart and the other person has the moment when they pick it up and gather all the good karma that was sewn into it.

Both equally healing.

Bits of fabric, ribbon, beads…..all threaded together to form a heartfelt act of random kindness.

BElieve THEre is GOOD in the world.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “abandoned (he)art”

  1. Awesome idea. I could cut out felt hearts. Lol (my craft limit)
    I’ve been working hard at showing kindness to the people who are the rudest and nastiest. It makes me happy because it usually brings a pretty funny face to the person, they can’t quite figure out what I’m up too

  2. When I was in NY last summer, someone was really rude to me on an elevator. I said, “God Bless You” to her and she was still mad. I think she was probably ill in some way so I just Let It Go.
    It’s good to be nice. Thank you for a wonderful idea!! xoxo

Comments are closed.