chickens, gratitude, haPPY, Uncategorized

girls vs boy

20160706_164518-1

Big News!!!!!!

It’s a girl!

It’s a girl!

While Mr. Right teases me and makes jokes about buzzards chickens, he was the one who drove, had the box ready, paid and arranged the meeting.

Welcome to the Wilson’s!  I have two new chickens!!!!

I am one of those people who name their livestock.  Okay, Monday morning,  4th of July………….let’s see…….. names, you two beauties need names.

20160704_162224I’d like to introduce you to Martha and Dolly.  That’s Martha Washington and Dolly Madison.

Martha is a Blue Andalusian.  When the sun catches it just right, her feathers are so black they shimmer blue.  Dolly is an Americauna just like our Ginger.

While they are only a few months old they both are laying eggs already.  Which is rather lovely.  I collected and am grateful for egg number 832.

While I was fussing and fluffing the coop yesterday, they were being quite shy.  So I decided to tell them a little about me. I first said I was nice and would bring them goodies almost every day. I always say thank you, aloud when I collect eggs.   I said while I am wearing ugly black boots today, I wear fancy toe nail polish and when I wear flip-flops they will be magically drawn to me.  ha

I offered up a bowl with plain yogurt garnished with meal worms and fresh picked20160707_094536-1 blueberries and spinach.  yum.  (yes, they need the good bacteria 20160707_094710-1of yogurt as the 3 adjust to each other) They all dug right in, so apparently my culinary skills are appreciated.

How are they adjusting you ask?  The first night around midnight, I went out with a flashlight to check on the slumber party.  Everyone was sleeping next to each other.  Guess they got to know each other, did each other’s hair and enjoyed the movie and popcorn.

How am I adjusting?

5 girls (me, one girl dog, 3 girl chickens) VS one boy, Mr. Right.

Odds are good in the Wilson house.

Smiling

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “girls vs boy”

Comments are closed.