cooking, gift giving, haPPY, love, Uncategorized

shot glasses + dental floss = love

You know those plastic, inexpensive shot glass that the younger crowd uses to make jello shots?  Yes, those.

When I have a dessert buffet, I use them for mini desserts.  Everyone loves mini desserts. You feel like you can have three!

Mini lemon tart?  Don’t mind if I do.

Mini chocolate mouse?  Oh yes.

A miniature Pineapple whip?  Heck yeah!

I also use them for frosting.  Can I get an AMEN!?

Thick, rich, gorgeous, creamy dreamy frosting. AMEN!

I made cinnamon roll dough early Monday morning.  This dough is amazing.  It has to hang out in the refrigerator for a day or two to be at it’s very best.

So, this morning I put on my really cute, ruffled apron and got out my dental floss, heating pad, shot glasses and ruler.  What? You don’t get out your dental floss first?

How do you cut your cinnamon roll dough without squishing them?

Note to all:  This recipe is full of fat, sugar, gluten and dairy.  I did use a fresh egg and amazing cinnamon from the Penzey spice company.  We LOVE Penzey!!!!!!

https://www.penzeys.com/

20160727_093132_resizedOkay, I rolled and cut (with dental floss, 1.5 inches wide rolls) and I let them rise on my heating pad. 20160727_094250-1_resized

Next, put them into a very hot oven to do their thing.

Oh, man, these babies (not real babies) rose up toward heaven and released an amazing aroma of fresh baking bread and cinnamon. That glorious scent  of yeast and sugar and butter swirls together and has filled our home with love.  Yes, that is the smell of love.  Trust me.

Mr. Right has chess lessons tonight.  So, I thought I would bake an extra pan (King Arthur Flour baking pan made out of cardboard) for his chess teacher.  Not knowing if the gentleman likes frosting or not, I thought………how about giving him three little shots of icing?20160727_112253-1_resized

8 or  80+ year olds…….let me ask you, who among us doesn’t want to ice their own rolls?  Wasn’t that the best part of those “smack on the counter, cinnamon rolls in a tube”?  They came with their very own tub of creamy icing.

Here’s to baking and sharing love (remember today, love is fresh-baked rolls with shots of icing), one neighbor at a time.

Chat tomorrow.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “shot glasses + dental floss = love”

  1. I’m thinking of moving to your town and teaching you………………….to play something……..some game………………..so that you’ll bake cinnamon rolls for me!!!!! Do you know how to play Yahtzee?

Comments are closed.