cooking, grateful, Uncategorized

dancing for coffee

Thick, rich, deep amber color, luxurious velvet on your tongue………..caramel sauce.  Oh, be still my heart.  The flavor and the smooth sweetness makes you want to lick the spoon clean as a whistle.

Actual tears (the ugly kind when you cry so hard your nose gets red) poured out of me when I found out I had to give it up.  Seriously?  Do you know how many Caramel Macchiatos I used to drink?  Beautiful strong, rich, dark espresso with creamy white milk and then topped with whipped cream and drizzled all over and back again with caramel sauce.  Oh, I had it bad.

I won’t go into all of the bad mojo that is hidden in that sauce……….sugar, colorings, flavorings and on and on and on it goes…….you get the picture.

Bit by bit, drink by drink, I am thriving and dancing about a beverage once again.

Come on, you KNOW that feeling.  Even if you don’t drink coffee… you have it bad for an icy Dr. Pepper or you get a sweet thrill when you pop the top on that Diet Coke, that slight giddiness you feel when they hand over your drink at the local coffee shop and you take that first, eyes closed sip.   You KNOW?  Television commercial happy to be drinking some type of beverage……. a tad strange, crazy with joy, dancing in the streets happy for a beverage. Really, do real people do this?

Sweet Peaches, I am curious.  I must be able to create something that will work?

I am smart.  I can certainly figure out one little drink.

Okay, I got the whipped coconut cream down pat, I make a lovely espresso and don’t even talk to me about just how fabuloso my homemade almond milk is.

Last week I cried again.  The good kind of “movie star” cry.  You know?  No actual mascara running down your face or smudges under your eyes. Misty eyes with a gentle falling tear from the corner of your eye.  All pretty and lady like.

I figured it out!  Coffee time is back, baby!20160722_204522-1_resized

My gift to you!  Saving the world of goodness one cup of coffee at a time.

Here’s the recipe.

1/2 cup raw, unsalted almond butter, 1/2 cup real maple syrup, 1/3 cup coconut oil, 2 teaspoons vanilla, 1/4 teaspoon real salt…….use your immersion blender and blend baby, blend!  Put in a jar.   Spoon at will.

Tastes amazing in coffee drinks……..however, I am sure, if you were inclined to try,  it will taste mighty fine just off the spoon, while standing in front of the refrigerator.  (juss sayin’)

In this together friends,  (this is PERFECT for two-handed hot coffee.  You know?  You hold the cup with two hands and you can’t hold your phone, so you just talk with a friend and look at them so you two can figure out the world’s problems and drink delicious hot caramel coffee together.)

Here’s to our wellness and health!

20160722_204456_resized_1Chat soon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

