gift giving, gifts, goodness, grace, grandchildren, haPPY, Uncategorized

fancy that

Our grands live a million miles away from us.  Well, it seems like a million miles.

That means all the goodies and surprises we mail have to go into a box with lots of packing supplies.  What that really means is all the ribbons and bows are crushed and look rather dull, drab, dumpy & smooshed by the time they get to the special short people.

We just mailed a box this morning.  Someone sweet is turning 6 years old.  We wanted to be in on the celebration.

So while this someone special is girlie girl through and through, she loves space and planets and stars and animals. 20160807_134753_resized So space books and a book on becoming a Veterinarian went into the box.  NASA flash cards and a planet kit went into the box next to earrings and headbands and a fancy polka dot girlie skirt. 20160805_204746_resized

I wanted to take a moment to share a couple of ideas.  I need fancy “bows” and “ribbons” that won’t get crushed.  I want creative and fun and happy and charming.

Every time I walk by those huge silk flower displays that scream 70% off?  If it fits my under 50 cent criteria, I buy one or two.  I have a box at home, just for ribbons and flowers and such.

When I spy stickers 50% off, I buy a sheet of letters and numbers.

You know those thin wooden letters that go on sale now and then?  I buy them and then fancy them up a bit with paint I have at home.

Oh goodness, I never throw away those purple stretchy bags that mini potatoes come in.  Little sisters love purple!20160807_131833_resized

Don’t forget the bulk section of the grocery store.  While you are buying baking soda, almonds and lentils……find the candy section and buy 6 glorious Butterfly gummies or a little bag of sour gummy worms.

I promise, if you put on your thinking cap, you will spend less than $5.00 for oodles and oodles of decorations for your packages.  Heck, they are even fancy enough to put on packages you hand deliver.

Sweet surprises for sweet girls and their sweet little sisters are amazingly fun to decorate.

Fancy that?

Chat tomorrow.

 

 

 

 

