Uncategorized

comfort food served here

Thank heavens, the rain is gently starting to drench the lawn.  Late summer rain is most welcome.  Cool things down and refresh everything.

The perfect day for soup.

Anyone tired of hearing about our tomatoes, yet?   Not me!

Today’s creation….. home-made, savory, rich tomato soup.

I started with one big, fat onion, a couple of ribs of celery with the greens, two enormous carrots, 4 cloves garlic…… chop, chop, chop.  I used some coconut oil, saute until the carrots are almost fork tender.

Hello my beauties.  20160830_095205-1_resized

Add 12-15 medium ripe for the pickin’, lush, plump tomatoes.  I took the stem out and chopped them up.  I left the skins on.

Add it all to a stock pot.  Then I added chopped, fresh picked parsley, thyme and rosemary.  Juice of one big ol’ fat orange, real salt and lots of fresh ground pepper.  Oh, I added 1 teaspoon coconut sugar and a splash of Bragg’s Liquid Aminos.  20160831_113216_resized

Simmer for a bit.  Then take out your handy-dandy immersion 20160831_120323-1_resizedblender and whirl away.

For lunch today, I wanted to sample the soup.  I topped it with some cashew cream and some fresh chopped chives.

The soup has a velvet texture.  It has a savory flavor that encourages you to take another bite.  That under tone of orange, just a slight hint in the background, oh, very nice.  The herbs add another layer of just the right amount of freshness.

While the cashew cream adds a nice touch, combined with a spoonful of the rich soup somehow creates a soup worthy of your dinner table. 20160831_124140-1_resized

I wish you lively dinner conversation around your table tonight.

Say Grace, drop that napkin in your lap, slip off your shoes and pick up that soup spoon. Deep breath, dinner music on…………..take that first warm, comforting bite.

Good food feeds your body and soul.

20160831_124201_resizedIn this together,

Here’s to our health & wellness!

Bon Appetit!

 

2 thoughts on “comfort food served here”

Comments are closed.