grateful, gratitude, sewing, Uncategorized

sew grateful

Mary Walkley was 20 years old in 1863 when she passed away.   She was a seamstress in West London for a court dressmaker named Madame Elise.  This shop catered to the most fashionable ladies in London society.

From what I gather, she lived in deplorable conditions.  She worked/lived in a crowded house with 28 others.  In order to meet their exacting demands, the seamstresses worked from 6:30 am to 11:00 pm.  With very short dinner and tea breaks.  They slept two to very small beds.

The gowns and pieces of clothing they produced were breathtaking.  Beautiful, stunning, really pieces of art work.  Craftsmanship second to none.   The question is, would she have been an exquisite seamstress in a whimsical, light filled, large sewing room all to herself?

I raise my thimble up to Mary!  Here’s to you Mary and all that you created.  You are remembered.

20160920_145851_resized_2Yesterday, I spent a little time in my sewing room.  Adding a bit more whimsy.  I stenciled words above the window.  I made “curtains”.  I used a branch that had been a curtain rod in our old dining room & lavender that I just harvested from our garden.

I am mighty grateful to have my very own room to sew, quilt, embroider, stitch to my hearts 20160920_151104_resized_2content.  I have no deadline.  I can stop for dinner or tea whenever I choose.  Oh yes, I can and have stayed up until 11:00 pm creating something, yet I don’t have to.

As I sit in my sewing chair, I can glance out that window.  I will always see the words above. A gentle nudge to always remember to live in gratitude. 20160920_151558_resized_1

Have I mentioned lately what  lucky girl I am?

Sew Grateful.

20160920_152523-1_resized_2

4 thoughts on “sew grateful”

  1. That’s a beautiful looking seeing room perfect for being creative, mine has turned into a general dumping ground for the house it’s time to sort it out and de-clutter !

Comments are closed.