goodness, grace, grateful, Uncategorized

another glass of goodness

A girlfriend asked me what the first thing I would suggest you do if you find out you are extremely sick.

  1.  Choose a GREAT support person.
  2.  Buy awesomesauce RED cowgirl boots (it’s going to get messy, ugly & deep, you are  going to need those beauties.)
  3. Count 10 things each day, BEFORE your feet hit the ground, that you are grateful for.

When I say choose a GREAT support person, I mean it.  (spouse, friend, sister, brother, neighbor, uncle, health coach…)

If you want to heal and thrive and  go on living, choose wisely.

I can only speak for myself in saying, from the moment I was diagnosed, I was not thinking clearly, my brain was fuzzy, I was not capable of making sound decisions and on the list goes.

Choose a person who is willing to do a bazillion things (we had to change 147 things about our life and what we ate and drank) to help you find wellness AND  buy, bring home, wash, prepare and juice 64 ounces of goodness 6 days a week, is probably going to be your best bet.

I chose Mr.Right.

This is what our kitchen counter looks like 6 days a week.  Each night after the supper dishes are dried and put away, out come the bags and bins of vegetables & fruit…..and Charlie the Champion, the trusty juicer.20161024_192310-1_resized_1

Remember all those times, your mom or grandma said, “eat your vegetables, they are good for you”?  Turns out they were right.

Ever hear someone or read a chart that advises you to get your  5 a day?  That is you are supposed to get 5 fruits or vegetables a day to be healthy.  Five?  Seriously folks, we can do better than that.  We HAVE to do better than that.

Hold my hand, I will show you.

Sure, the juice changes slightly with the seasons and what is available.  Yes, we try our best to purchase organic, that is not always what we can find or afford.  Some of the produce is peeled, all is washed with vinegar then scrubbed and rinsed with water.  Filtered water. Occasionally, fresh pineapple or half a beet, sometimes cilantro in place of parsley, however, this is the basic juice recipe.

lettuce, red pepper, pair, cucumber, parsley, carrots, orange, spinach, kale, lemons (we spend $700.00 per year on lemons alone!), broccoli, apples, celery (yes, the celery tops go in the juice) and turmeric

All of this, everyday.

6 days a week.

 

20161024_192920_resized_1Mr. Right and this riot of color are healing me, one glass at a time, 64 ounces a day, approximately 9.69 pounds, 6 days a week.20161024_192310-1_resized_1

I gotta be honest here and say, some days, I am a smidge grumpy about drinking my juice.

Almost 4 years later, I know, 100% it is healing and contributing to my wellness.  Once in a while,  I would love to sit down, in the afternoon for a latte or a cup of cocoa sounds divine……however, I have to still fit in every glass, jar,ounce of juice a day.   I am not that thirsty. ha.  I hear folks talk about having a glass of wine or two.  NOT gonna happen here, folks.

Remember when I said, choose wisely when you choose your support person?

Every single night, when Mr. Right hands me a glass of juice, it goes like this……..

(Inwardly, I sigh and drop my shoulders like a displeased 4th grade girl… I am tired of drinking juice…. I don’t wanna drink my juice…….)

With a flourish he ceremoniously places a colorful straw in my glass.   He gingerly & graciously hands it to me like he is holding the elixir of life (quite possibly he is) and he always, always says,

“Another glass of goodness, Mrs. Wilson”.20161024_202118-1_resized

Boy Howdy, I chose wisely.  Have I mentioned lately what a lucky girl I am?

(I refer you to 3rd thing on the list.  I owe my life to him and I am grateful.)

Cheers to our good health!

Chat tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “another glass of goodness”

Comments are closed.