gift giving, gifts, grace, grandchildren, love, Uncategorized

oh deer, what do I hear

While putting away the Halloween decorations, tossing the carved pumpkins, eating the last of the roasted pumpkin seeds..I heard something.  I think………wait……..yes, I think it was a jingle bell.

Not only does Mrs. Claus have to start early, so does Grandma Daleen.

Last year, we found beautiful (and sturdy) advent calendars for the grands.  I tucked them away for this year.20161102_161101_resized

So we didn’t forget, I wrote on our kitchen calendar, November 1…….

 “send calendars to Z.A.C.”

This year, I stitched each a simple and sweet ornament.  I try to make something that is not breakable.  I want it to be cute and sweet, yet something even the parents would be okay with hanging on their tree.20161102_154558-1_resized

Um, yes, this is what grandmas are supposed to do.  They are suppose to make things for their grands.  Make cookies or an ornaments or a poem or a book or a quilt or a doll blanket or a car mat….whatever you can create… this is what all those years of practice were for.

Grandma’s tell their grands they love them with scratchy knit slippers (with treats tucked inside).  Grandma’s make silly bracelets or super capes.  Nanas and MeeMaws across the land make their super, secret, special cookies and put them in a special tin, just for their grands.  Great Grandma’s make personalized book marks for each little in her life.

You have time.  Get your creative juices flowing.

 I can promise you, no matter what you make, they will feel loved and of value.  Here’s the best part about making something for your grandchildren:  They will LOVE whatever you make.  They don’t criticize or judge.  They don’t point out your mistakes.  They are pure of heart.  Grand children just love that you made something for them. 

Here’s a peek behind the scenes:

I used a free pattern from    http://cutesycrafts.com/2013/12/felt-deer-and-fox-christmas-ornaments.html

Yes, I said free.  Good news, there are oodles of people on the” inter webs” who are sharing recipes and patterns for free!  Out of the goodness of their cotton pickin’ hearts.  Just because they want to share the love.   How’s that for lifting your spirits about mankind??

I used wool felt that I already had in my felt box. 20161102_154625-1_resized

I used thread  that I already had in my thread box.

20161102_154609_resizedI used ribbon that I already had in my ribbon box.

Scissors, needle and a couple pins.

A couple of hours later, TA -DA

Sweet, charming, adorable ornaments.  I stitched all sorts of crazy love and good karma into each.

Chop, Chop!

The time is now.

Please remember to make something with love for the sweet people in your life.

I would love to see and hear about what you are making for your grands or your niece, nephew, neighbor kiddo,  a little person that lives on your street.  You get the idea.

Instead of buying into the commercial notion that you have to purchase something , please take a moment, deep cleansing breath…… you can do this, make something with your very own hands.  I have faith in you.

When they hold and touch the gift you made, they will hold your love in their hands. It’s that simple. Really.  Nothing deep.  Just pure love for your grandchildren.

I look forward to hearing how you packaged cocoa or simple krispee treats.  I would love to hear what book you bought to go along with the glitter book marker you made.

This year, let’s share and lift each other’s spirits.

We all could use a little extra love this season.

In this together,

Chat soon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “oh deer, what do I hear”

Comments are closed.