cross stitch, gifts, love, Uncategorized

a secret stitch

By noticing the dates worked into my counted cross stitch pieces you can tell where I was in life and what I was doing. 20161130_080450-1_resized

Some pieces are dated during those Home Schooling years.  I would pull out my stitchery and sit at the table while the boys were working on writing projects or reading.  They didn’t really need my help, more they needed direction and for me to be quiet so they could flourish.

As an Army wife, while the movers took an entire day to pack our belongings at each duty station, I wasn’t allowed to touch anything, so, out came my stitching.

In the days, long before the TSA had their silly rules about tiny scissors, oh and as well as me needing bright sunshine or my stitching lamp, I used to stitch while I waited in airports or while travelling by plane. (yes, I can use a dental floss holder to cut my thread.)

Today, nightly, Mr. Right spends an hour making juice for the next day.    I sit on the other side of the counter and we talk about the days events.   His hands are busy washing and preparing vegetables and fruits.  My hands are kept busy with needle and thread.

Yes, I have made beautifully large pieces for my daughter in-laws.  I have given many pieces away.  Believe it or not, a few years back, I started keeping a couple of pieces for myself.

I tease my kids, that while I enjoy and use my china & beautiful pieces of Wedgwood, I am quite sure some of the “priceless” pieces  will be sold at a yard sale for 25 cents, fingers crossed some will go for $1.00.

20161130_074613-1_resizedHowever, when it comes to pieces of stitchery, I hope that because I have secretly slipped in a birth date, or highlighted certain family members initials into other pieces…..that those will be kept as treasured heirlooms.  A snippet of family history that is theirs to keep and tend to for a while.

Pieces of thread that binds them as a family and their history.

Today, a six-year-old little grandgirlie is not interested in a20161129_113122-1_resized stuffy sampler.  30 years from now, when she spies her birth year under glass, stitched into a beautiful piece…..she will know it was stitched with her in mind….. A few more evenings of stitching the flower and this piece will be ready to be framed.

 

I love stitching special pieces for a celebration or person.

20161130_074654-1-1_resizedA pin cushion to celebrate a retirement

An ornament to celebrate a life

A beautiful bird for a Christmas treasure

A pillow for a birthday gift  ………….

I use samplers to celebrate my family.  Every stitch, making the ties that bind so tightly woven that it will be nearly impossible to take apart.

I know it is not popular.  I understand there is no glossy advertisement about buying fabric and thread.  My guess is that you are quietly making things for your family.

I would love to see what you are creating.

Secretly we are using needle and thread to stitch a piece of our family history.

In this together,

Chat soon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “a secret stitch”

    1. I do enjoy samplers from a certain age group (late 1800’s & early 1900’s). However, I do notice that certain colors were used in different regions.
      Some folks that had a bit more money, used more reds, rusts, oranges, gold colors. I believe the pigment in those colors was a bit more spendy.

      Of course the missing letter “J” in several. I happen to be working on one currently. Those stitched samplers were passed around like paper patterns to us. As near as I can uncover, the stitchers thought you could “figure out” the loop on the J from other letters and the straight line , so no need to add it to the line up.
      School teacher samplers were much different. They included all the letters, always. They were teaching the alphabet, not just stitches.

      I have noticed that I am gently falling in love with samplers that are designed today. Sometime a newer pattern catches my eye and I can’t shake it loose. Then, it calls my name and I am drawn to it.

      Oh, thanks kindly for asking sampler/stitching topics. I find not many where I live pursue the craft.
      It is a real pleasure to chat with someone about them.

      OOdles of thanks for stopping by today.
      You made my day!
      Daleen

      1. Thank you for passing on so much information. I inherited a little sampler from an aunt. She probably did it when she was about 10, which would mean about 1930s. Most of the stitching is in orange. It is a simple piece but it’s lovely to have. Materials for samplers were probably hard to come by in the depression years.

Comments are closed.