cooking, friends, haPPY, recipe, Uncategorized

easy fix

Yesterday while teaching a baking lesson the unthinkable happened.  I reached to get a box of brown sugar and discovered it was nearly empty.  GASP.  Oh no!  We NEED 1 cup!

My almost 11-year-old friend, was instantly sad.  We were in the process of gathering ingredients to make her Dad’s favorite molasses cookies.  Big ol’ sad face with huge sad eyes. (Can you imagine, this face being sad?  Oh dear.)20170328_120302-1_resized

Why don’t we just make some?

WHAT?

Make brown sugar?

um, yeah, that’s what people do.

I don’t know how to make it.

I do.

I will teach you.

Pencil ready?

Write this down:

 1 cup of white sugar + 1 Tablespoon molasses, mix = Brown Sugar. 

Done

Wait!!!! 

That’s it?

Yes, that’s it.

Chop, chop, Lollipop!

Let’s get that cookie dough made so we can chill it and make cookies for your Dad!

20170328_153841_resized

2 thoughts on “easy fix”

    1. Man oh man, I have to bring my A game and pay attention. That pint sized baker goes a mile a minute and she is drinking it all in.
      It is oodles of fun and the next day?
      Let’s just say, I am plum tuckered out.
      It is really uplifting to share ideas, crafts, recipes with someone so eager to learn.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Glad I could share some of the goodness.

Comments are closed.